Criminal, Civil, & Family Law Unit (CCFLU)

Main Function

Ensures the implementation of policies relative to the administration of laws under the purview of the Ministry of Justice.

Services Offered to the Public

Administration of the Criminal Records (Rehabilitation of Offenders) Act (Act 18 of 1988)

A person who has committed an offence which does not attract a custodial sentence or custodial sentence of imprisonment not exceeding 5 years, and has not been convicted of any other crime during a specified Rehabilitation Period, may be eligible to have that conviction removed. (Expungement)

Marriage Licences (Minister’s Licence)

Under the Marriage Act S 21, any person residing in Jamaica and intending to marry may apply for a special licence to perform the marriage. The Licence is granted by the Minister upon satisfactory proof that there is no lawful impediment to the marriage, and is called a Minister’s License. Persons are expected to be resident in Jamaica for a minimum of twenty four hours.   

Internal Administration

The CCFLU coordinates with stakeholders in the public and private sectors, NGOs and international donor agencies, to plan and implement policies and programmes for the ongoing improvement of the delivery of justice. The Division facilitates the following:

Support for Court Operations

The Division oversees the appointment of the Spirit Licences Authority which considers applications for special Spirit Licenses made by the public through the courts.

Maintenance Orders (Facilities) for Enforcement Act

Collaborates with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade and the Family Courts under the Maintenance Order (Facilities) for Enforcement Act, to facilitate and process reciprocal agreements with foreign states. Currently Jamaica has reciprocal agreements with:

Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Belize, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Baliwick of Guernsey, Guyana, Isle of Man, Jersey, Monsterrat, New Zealand, Niue, St. Christopher and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom, British Virgin Islands, Western Samoa, The United States of America (specifically the states of: Maryland, New Jersey, Florida), Canada (specifically the provinces of: Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Price Edward Island, The Yukon).

The Legislative Process

Supports the legislative process in certain instances, by the preparation of submissions and the publishing of notices and orders.